MisterWives – Connect The Dots (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24/48]

MisterWives – Connect The Dots (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 42:42 minutes | 557 MB | Genre: Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Republic

Connect the Dots is the second studio album by critically acclaimed American indie pop band MisterWives. Produced by the diverse, talented Butch Walker, Connect the Dots is a bright, colorful, and explosive experience that paints a fitting portrait of the city that never sleeps. That said, with this new album, MisterWives has created an evolutionary follow-up to their successful 2015 debut, Our Own House.

MisterWives’ sophomore effort is a buoyant, groove-heavy affair that builds upon the joyous ’80s-influenced indie pop sound from their 2015 debut. A tight 11 tracks long, Connect the Dots is so infectiously charming it could border on the precious, but the New York-based sextet are so committed and exuberant that it’s difficult not to get swept up by their youthful energy. On the defiant Sia-meets-No Doubt dancehall opener “Machine,” MisterWives pile horns, driving drums, and elastic bass over empowering lyrics like “We’re not part of your machine!” before sidling up next to like-minded contemporaries Paramore on the sunny “Chasing This.” Highlights abound on Connect the Dots. “Only Human” features one of their strongest melodic hooks, while the anthemic, crowd-ready “Revolution” rallies listeners with cries of “Let’s start a revolution/Where we all stand as one” in a noble attempt to tackle larger social issues. The rollicking “Out of Tune Piano” stomps with Regina Spektor-like mirth, while “Oh Love” flexes its rock muscle with heavy vocal distortion and jagged riffs. Standing high above it all, closer “Let the Light In” is the album’s standout. The hard-hitting new wave epic is pure Eurythmics, right down to vocalist Mandy Lee’s Annie Lennox harmonics. While the rest of Connect the Dots is a solid step forward for the group, this track is the most exciting hint at their potential. Defeating the specter of the sophomore slump with confidence and a smile, MisterWives infuse their colorful sonic spectrum with enough new ideas to evolve and mature with grace.

01 – Machine
02 – Chasing This
03 – Only Human
04 – Drummer Boy
05 – Revolution
06 – My Brother
07 – Out Of Tune Piano
08 – Coloring Outside The Lines
09 – Band Camp
10 – Oh Love
11 – Let The Light In





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *