Kurt Elling – Passion World (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24/96]

Kurt Elling – Passion World (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 01:04:58 minutes | 1,23 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Concord Music Group, Inc.
Recorded: November 29, 2012 – December 4, 2012

Both a virtuoso and a journeyman, a traditionalist and a chance taker, singer Kurt Elling has built a career upon defying expectations while also celebrating the standards of the vocal jazz tradition. An adept vocalist with an eloquent set of skills that find him moving easily between literate, kinetic vocalese, swinging standards, and lyrical balladry, Elling draws you deep into each song. With his 11th studio album and fifth for Concord, 2015’s Passion World, Elling maximizes this eclectic dynamism with a well-curated series of songs that find him exploring compositions and styles from around the globe. The album finds him working with producers Chris Dunn and Bryan Farina as well as longtime collaborators keyboardist Gary Versace, guitarist John McLean, bassist Clark Sommers, and drummer Kendrick Scott. This touring ensemble has backed Elling worldwide, and clearly shares his enthusiasm for interpreting such stylistically disparate material. Also adding to the album’s cornucopia of sounds is a handful of like-minded guests including trumpeter Arturo Sandoval on the elegiac Cuban ballad “Bonita Cuba” and tenor saxophonist Tommy Smith and the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra on the lyrical traditional Celtic number “Loch Tay Boat Song.” Similarly, German trumpeter Till Brönner adds his soft, melodic trumpet to Richard Galliano’s “Billie,” reworked here as “The Tangled Road,” and featuring lyrics by Elling. Also engaging is Elling’s duet with vocalist Sara Gazarek on Brazilian singer/songwriter Dorival Caymmi’s buoyant 1944 bossa nova classic “Você Já Foi à Bahia?” And it’s not just his jazz chops on display here. Elling delivers an impeccable orchestral-backed rendition of Johannes Brahms’ elegiac “Nicht Wandle, Mein Licht (Liebeslieder Walzer Op. 52, No. 17),” and even reworks U2’s anthemic “Where the Streets Have No Name” with an uplifting folk and soul-jazz vibe. Ultimately, that all of Passion World works so beautifully, with each song flowing into the next, is yet another reason why Elling remains one of the premier jazz vocalists in the world.

1. The Verse 01:39
2. After The Door 03:56
3. Loch Tay Boat Song 07:04
4. Si Te Contara 05:38
5. La Vie En Rose 08:16
6. Bonita Cuba 06:40
7. Where The Streets Have No Name 04:53
8. The Tangled Road 07:20
9. Você Já Foi à Bahia? 02:21
10. Nicht Wandle, Mein Licht (Liebeslieder Walzer Op. 52, No. 17) 07:04
11. Who Is It (Carry My Joy On The Left, Carry My Pain On The Right) 04:55
12. Where Love Is 05:18

Kurt Elling, vocal
Gary Versace, piano
Clark Sommers, bass
John Mclean, guitar
Kendrick Scott, drums
John Wojciehowski, tenor saxophone
Orbert Davis, trumpet
Grant Park Orchestra
Carlos Kalmar, conductor





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *