Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass – Coney Island (1975/2015) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24/88,2]

Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass – Coney Island (1975/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 40:41 minutes | 759 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Herb Alpert Presents

Coney Island, released in 1975, continues Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass’s string of successful albums with tracks like “Coney Island” and “El Bimbo” reaching high into the Billboard’s Adult Contemporary charts.

Encouraged by his comeback album, Herb Alpert assembled a new version of the TJB — including a hotshot second trumpeter, Bob Findley, and jazz piano whiz Dave Frishberg — and hit the studio and road in 1975. Yet Coney Island was a brave, nearly complete departure from the old Tijuana Brass, where the jazzers were given carte blanche and the rhythm section encouraged to do more complex things. As a signal of independence, the new Brass tackle Chick Corea’s “Senor Mouse” head-on, where Frishberg runs wild and even longtime marimbist Julius Wechter is affected by the adventurous spirit. Alpert’s own playing on trumpet (and now flugelhorn and piano) is a bit freer as well, and he goes out on a limb as a composer with the experimental, not-quite-coherent “Carmine.” TJB tradition is also served by a loose, swinging version of “I Have Dreamed,” and an older legacy pops up in the Alpert/Frishberg duet on Jelly Roll Morton’s “The Crave.” But this edition of the Brass was short-lived; the public didn’t get it and Alpert soon moved on to solo projects, leaving this sole LP as its legacy. ~~ AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell

01 – Coney Island
02 – I Have Dreamed
03 – Senor Mouse
04 – Mickey
05 – Sweet Georgia Brown
06 – Ratatouille (Rata Too Ee)
07 – Catfish
08 – This Masquerade
09 – Carmine
10 – The Crave
11 – Vento Bravo
12 – I Belong





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *