Harry Belafonte – An Evening with Belafonte (1957/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24/96]

Harry Belafonte – An Evening with Belafonte (1957/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:45:36 minutes | 702 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © RCA/Legacy
Recorded: February 15, 1956 – December 4, 1956 at Radio Recorders Studio in Hollywood, California

Riding high on the success of the Calypso album, Harry Belafonte went back to doing what he had started out to do: record a variety of folk songs from different cultures around the world. This album exhibited his widest scope of selections yet, including songs from Haiti (“Merci Bon Dieu”), Israel (“Hava Nageela”), and Mexico (“Cu Cu Ru Cu Cu Paloma”), the latter a six minute tour de force. Although Belafonte would never score with a single as big as “Day O” again, An Evening With Belafonte did include the West Indian Christmas song “Mary’s Boy Child,” which became a huge seller in Great Britain. It was becoming apparent that Harry Belafonte was not interested in having hit singles, but only to present his albums as miniature lessons in global folk music. ~~AllMusic Review by Cary Ginell

1. Merci bon Dieu 02:50
2. Once Was 04:43
3. Hava Nageela 03:14
4. Danny Boy 05:52
5. The Drummer and the Cook 03:55
6. Come O My Love 04:24
7. Shenandoah 03:41
8. Mary’s Boy Child 04:22
9. Cu Cu Ru Cu Cu Paloma 05:30
10. Eden Was Just Like This 02:59
11. When The Saints Go Marching In 03:40

Harry Belafonte – vocals
Millard Thomas – guitar
Frantz Casseus – guitar
Harry Sweets Edison – trumpet
Si Zentner – trombone
Will Lorin and His Orchestra





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *