Andrew Hill – Black Fire (1964/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24/192]

Andrew Hill – Black Fire (1964/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time ~ 40:40 minutes | 1.59 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Blue Note Records
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on November 8, 1963.

Considered a classic modern jazz album, Black Fire was recorded by Andrew Hill in 1963 and released in 1964.

Jazz pianist Andrew Hill wasn’t a household name but his music had a far-reaching influence on jazz music of the 1960s. This 1964 release, his debut for Blue Note, was produced by Alfred Lion who called the pianist his “last great discovery.” Hill is joined on this album of all-original material by a superb group of studio musicians including Joe Henderson on tenor saxophone, bassist Richard Davis and drummer Roy Haynes, performing in various trio and quartet combinations.

Black Fire, Andrew Hill’s debut record for Blue Note, was an impressive statement of purpose that retains much of its power decades after its initial release. Hill’s music is quite original, building from a hard bop foundation and moving into uncharted harmonic and rhythmic territory. His compositions and technique take chances; he often sounds restless, searching relentlessly for provocative voicings, rhythms, and phrases. Black Fire borrows from the avant-garde, but it’s not part of it — the structures remain quite similar to bop, and there are distinct melodies. Nevertheless, Hill and his band — comprised of tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson, bassist Richard Davis, and drummer Roy Haynes — are not content with the limitations of hard bop. Much of the music is informed by implied Afro-Cuban rhythms and modal harmonics, resulting in continually challenging and very rewarding music. Hill’s complex chording is thoroughly impressive, and Henderson’s bold solos are more adventurous than his previous bop outings would have suggested. Their expertise, along with the nimble, unpredictable rhythm section, help make Black Fire a modern jazz classic. –Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Pumpkin 5:22
2 Subterfuge 8:02
3 Black Fire 6:53
4 Cantardos 5:39
5 Tired Trade 5:48
6 McNeil Island 2:55
7 Land Of Nod 5:45

Andrew Hill, piano
Joe Henderson, saxophone
Richard Davis, bass
Roy Haynes, drums



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *